The Power of Love

 

seyed mostafa zamani / Foter / CC BY

A close friend’s brother had a stroke several weeks ago (he is unable to speak and is beyond frustrated), she noticed that I move my hand when I speak and I explained the purpose. Today she  wrote me the following:   “I tried to get the idea across about speaking a syllable with every stroke of the pen on paper, but we just ended up giggling, but when I flipped the page, he didn’t want me to help him and he wrote his 1st word, clear as can be:
l o v e
We hugged and he went on to write 3 more words that didn’t spell anything, then before I left after my niece and sister returned, they said I think he wants to write again, so I flipped the page and he wrote once again:
l o v e
I was on cloud 9 all the way home ! I believed in him and the power of prayer, and felt that with hard work and
determination he would be able to speak again. This word on paper, spoke loudly to me, that love will get him through.
I thanked God that I met you and heard your story, then bought your book. It has been the most helpful tool for us and worth all of your work in the writing  it.  I will try to get some time again with him later this week and will put that pen back in his hand.  Thanks again for your insight into the effects on the mind and body of a stroke patient.”

The purpose of the book was to hear the success of stroke survivors. My story made the three years of writing my book very moving and special for me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Aphasia, Encouragement, Stroke

Leave a Reply

